How much does a pergola cost in 2026?
A pergola has two costs. The first is the pergola itself, a published number: verified kit prices run from a few hundred dollars for a steel canopy pergola to five figures for a large motorized louvered system, each with the date we checked it. The second is the finished project — assembly, footings or a slab, an outlet if the roof is motorized, a permit where one applies — and that is a regional estimate no national guide can give you exactly. This page publishes the first precisely and the second only as sourced, dated ranges.
The number most often quoted for an installed pergola — about $2,100 to $6,400, average $4,200 — comes from one customer survey, republished twice and then cited back as though it were three independent findings. That trail is set out below with dates and links. It matters because the second number on this page, what the finished project costs, varies enough by region, ground and roof that no national average can settle it for your yard.
If your question is what pergolas themselves currently sell for across brands, types and sizes, that is a different page: Pergola prices is the price reference. This page is about the whole project.
The Pergola Kit’s editorial guide, updated Sep 14, 2026. Product facts come from the manufacturer, each with the date we last verified it.

Kit price vs installed cost: why the two get blurred
Number one is the product price: a list price on the manufacturer’s site, the same in Ohio as in Oregon before delivery. Number two is what the finished structure costs standing in your yard — your ground, your region’s labor rates, whether the roof needs power, whether your municipality wants a permit. Nobody who has not seen your site can verify it.
Published cost guides usually collapse the two into one price-per-square-foot range. That is how the same 12×12 pergola “costs” anything from about $1,400 to about $19,000 depending on which one you open: one is quoting a bare cedar kit, the other a modeled site-built redwood structure with 45 hours of labor. Neither is wrong about what it is describing. Both are wrong to call it “the cost of a pergola”.
| Claim | As published | Source | What it does not cover |
|---|---|---|---|
| Installed pergola, national range and average | $2,118–$6,433; average $4,253 (about 100 sq ft). Labor typically $500–$1,000 extra, around 20% of the job. | AngiRead Sep 13, 2026 | Dated 18 Mar 2026. Method: survey of Angi customers plus BLS labor data. |
| Installed pergola, national range and average | $2,100–$6,400; average $4,200. | Arrow Outdoor Living (Tulsa contractor)Read Sep 13, 2026 | No sources given. The figures are Angi’s rounded. |
| Installed pergola, per square foot | $10–$65 per sq ft installed; prefab kit installed $1,450–$5,750; custom 12×12 $4,300–$9,400. | HomeGuideRead Sep 13, 2026 | Dated 1 Oct 2024. Method not stated beyond “cost data”. Two years old on a price topic. |
| Installed pergola, national range and average | $2,400–$8,960; average $5,000. | Forbes HomeRead Sep 13, 2026 | Dated 4 Sep 2024. Method stated: “surveyed two retailers and six cost databases”. |
| Retailer installed averages by size (custom wood, labor and materials) | 10×12 Deluxe $6,994; 12×12 Deluxe $7,539; 12×16 Deluxe $8,848. | The Home Depot, installation services cost pageRead Sep 13, 2026 | No method, date or sample size stated. Wood only, and tied to named sizes, which is rare. |
| Site-built redwood or cedar pergola, modeled | $106–$149 per sq ft; for 129 sq ft, materials $10,230–$12,575, labor 45.1 hours at $2,404–$5,106, total $12,772–$17,867. | HomewyseRead Sep 13, 2026 | A unit-cost model of a custom site build, May 2026, not observed jobs. Excludes contractor markup (13–22%), tax, permits and electrical. Its materials line alone runs above most complete kit prices on this page; it is an outlier and describes a different product. |
These are claims as published by the named source on the date given. We have read the documents; we have not independently tested or certified any figure in this table, and figures from different publishers are not necessarily measured the same way.
The spread is the finding. These estimates differ by an order of magnitude because they describe different projects — a kit on an existing patio, a custom wood structure with footings, a modeled redwood build — and none says which one you are planning. The rest of this page takes the project apart line by line so you can price yours instead of someone’s average.
What a pergola kit costs
Below is the cheapest published size of a representative family in each tier, each with the date we verified it and a link to the manufacturer’s page. It is a ladder, not a shortlist: it shows how far apart the tiers sit before a dollar of installation is added. For the full cross-brand price reference see Pergola prices; for which are worth buying, Best pergola kits.
| Product | Size | Roof | Price | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sunjoy Palladio Adjustable Canopy Metal PergolaEntry: steel frame, sliding canopy | 9×9 ft | Manual retractable roof | $289.20 | Sep 13, 2026Sunjoy ↗ |
| Purple Leaf Outdoor Pergola with Retractable Canopy Aluminum ShelterEntry: aluminum frame, retractable canopy | 10×10 ft | Manual retractable roof | $310 | Sep 13, 2026Purple Leaf ↗ |
| Backyard Discovery Beaumont PergolaCedar, open slat roof | 10×10 ft | Open slat | $1,099 | Sep 13, 2026Backyard Discovery ↗ |
| EROMMY Louvered Pergola with Adjustable Rainproof RoofManual louvered, aluminum | 10×12 ft | Manual louvers | $1,299.99 | Sep 13, 2026Erommy ↗ |
| Mirador Outdoor 111S Louvered PergolaManual louvered | 10×10 ft | Manual louvers | $1,459 | Sep 13, 2026Mirador Outdoor ↗ |
| Purple Leaf Caesar Louvered PergolaManual louvered, aluminum | 10×10 ft | Manual louvers | $1,799 | Sep 13, 2026Purple Leaf ↗ |
| Yardistry 12 x 12 PergolaWood, open slat roof | 12×12 ft | Open slat | $2,039.99 | Sep 13, 2026Yardistry ↗ |
| Mirador Outdoor 111S e-Motion Motorised Louvered Pergola with LEDMotorized louvered, LED and remote included | 10×13 ft | Motorized louvers | $3,299 | Sep 13, 2026Mirador Outdoor ↗ |
| PergoLux Pergola 4 Manual Louvered PergolaManual louvered, aluminum; current generation | 10×10 ft | Manual louvers | $4,218 | Sep 13, 2026PergoLux ↗ |
| PergoLux Pergola 4 Pro Motorized Louvered PergolaMotorized louvered; current generation | 10×10 ft | Motorized louvers | $5,193 | Sep 13, 2026PergoLux ↗ |
| BON Pergola Villa Pergola - Motorized Louver w/ Edge LightingMotorized louvered, motor and edge lighting included | 10×10 ft | Motorized louvers | $5,280 | Sep 13, 2026BON Pergola ↗ |
| PergoLux Pergola 4 Pro Max Premium Motorized Louvered PergolaMotorized louvered with louver lighting; current generation | 10×10 ft | Motorized louvers | $7,468 | Sep 13, 2026PergoLux ↗ |
| Hansø HorizonMotorized louvered; app and smart-home control | 10×10 ft | Motorized louvers | $7,488 | Sep 13, 2026Hansø Home ↗ |
| The Luxury Pergola® (Signature Series)Configurable; the figure shown is the brand’s published starting price, size set at order | — | Motorized louvers | $13,100.17 | Sep 13, 2026The Luxury Pergola ↗ |
Prices are the manufacturer’s published list price on the verified date, before tax and delivery. A price shown for one size is that size only. StruXure, Azenco and Equinox sell only through installing dealers and publish no product price at all; they appear on this page only in the dealer-installed context below. Tier labels are ours.
Two things about that ladder matter for the project total. The same brand often sells one footprint at two or three prices depending on operation and lighting, so “a louvered aluminum pergola” is not one price. And the more a kit costs, the more of the project it tends to leave out: a canopy pergola ships with everything it needs, while a motorized system may list foundations, anchoring hardware, a 120 V outlet and professional assembly as things you provide — PergoLux does, and each brand’s own inclusion list is on its product page. That is where the second number starts.
What the kit price does not include, in the brands’ own words
Each family here carries the manufacturer’s own list of what ships in the box and what does not. These two are typical of the two ends of the market, and the exclusions are the bridge from number one to number two: each excluded item is a line in the sections that follow.
PergoLux Pergola 4 Pro: what is and is not in the box: PergoLux Pergola 4 Pro Motorized Louvered Pergola
Included
- Electronic motorized louvered roof (double-wall louvers)
- Beam-integrated dimmable LED light strips
- Remote control for roof and accessories (range up to 130 ft)
- App and smart home control (Bluetooth, Matter; Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings)
- Pre-assembled roof panels with click-in installation
- Two SnapFIT accessory channels per rain gutter
- Assembly instructions (PERGOLUX app, video and printable PDF manuals)
Not included
- Anchoring bolts (spec table: "Anchoring Hardware: Bolts not Included")
- Electrical supply - a standard outdoor outlet (120V) is required
- Retractable screens, wooden slat walls and glass walls (sold separately)
- PERGOLUX heater (optional, sold separately)
- Foundation and footings
- Professional assembly (optional, via Elite Tech Installs)
Last verified PergoLux (opens in a new tab)
Yardistry 12×12 Pergola: what is and is not in the box: Yardistry 12 x 12 Pergola
Included
- Product comes as a ready to assemble kit with all wood pre-cut, pre-drilled, and pre-stained and includes all hardware and metal components
- Simple step by step illustrated instructions are included to ensure ease of assembly
- 6” x 6” Posts with classic plinths
- Sleek curved gussets
Not included
- Add Professional Assembly $910.00 — a paid add-on on the product page
- DIY stains are a paid add-on (Charwood Stain $99.99); 'staining services are not included with professional assembly'
- Anchoring of the unit is a chargeable additional service ($99.00-$149.00)
Last verified Yardistry (opens in a new tab)
Yardistry prices its assembly and anchoring add-ons on the product page itself; PergoLux lists foundation, footings and professional assembly as excluded, without a price; Purple Leaf says it offers no installation service; Mirador refers certified installers on request. That is most of the market in four positions: some brands sell you the labor, some point you to it, some leave it to you.
Pergola installation and labor cost
There are two very different jobs hiding inside “installation”. One is assembling a kit on an existing slab or deck: the brands describe this in hours, and some sell it as a priced add-on. The other is a site build — footings dug and poured, a ledger fixed to the house, sometimes a slab — which contractors price in crew-days at rates that vary by region and trade. They are priced differently, which is why nothing below is a single number.
| Claim | As published | Source | What it does not cover |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yardistry, professional assembly add-on | 10×12 Meridian Pergola: “Add Professional Assembly $840.00”. Kit listings with assembly included run $670–$1,140 above the kit-only price across the range (10×14 Madison +$670; 12×12 Pergola +$910; 10×20 Meridian Wooden Louvered +$1,140). | Yardistry product pagesRead Sep 13, 2026 | Assembly-included listings may be channel-specific (Costco). Anchoring is a separate chargeable service ($99–$149 on the 12×12 page); the brand states anchoring hardware is not provided because mounting surfaces vary. |
| PergoLux, assembly service | “Pergola Assembly Service” sold as a $495 product. Full installation is a $0 “quote” product: the partner (Elite Tech Installs) reviews the kit and contacts the buyer with a price, covering foundation anchoring, structural mounting and final assembly. | PergoLux shopRead Sep 13, 2026 | The $495 service’s scope is not described on its page. Full installation has no published price. |
| Mirador, assembly effort | Two people with a basic set of tools can install the pergola in roughly four hours. Professional installation is by referral to certified installers. | Mirador Outdoor product pagesRead Sep 13, 2026 | Manufacturer claim for assembly on a prepared surface; anchor bolts for a flat concrete surface are included. |
| Purple Leaf, installation | “Recommend 4-6 people to install. PURPLE LEAF doesn’t offer installation service.” | Purple Leaf product pagesRead Sep 13, 2026 | Manufacturer statement. No assembly product exists to price. |
| Independent assembler, Costco/Yardistry pergola tiers (Southern California) | 10×12: $600 assembly, $1,050 with anchoring, $1,200 with anchoring and trash removal. 12×16: $1,200 / $1,550 / $1,750. 12×20: $1,500 / $1,900 / $2,100. | ZOMG the Handyman, “Gazebo assembly cost”Read Sep 13, 2026 | One assembler, one region, March 2026. Illustrates the kit-assembly job, not a site build. |
| Kit assembly labor, national | Kit labor $600–$1,500; custom build labor $2,000–$7,000; contractor rates $50–$120 per hour. | HomeGuideRead Sep 13, 2026 | Dated 1 Oct 2024; method not stated. |
| Labor share of an installed pergola | About 20% of the project; $500–$1,000 on a typical job. Motorized systems: labor 20–30%. | AngiRead Sep 13, 2026 | Survey-based averages, 18 Mar 2026 and 8 Jul 2026 (motorized article). |
These are claims as published by the named source on the date given. We have read the documents; we have not independently tested or certified any figure in this table, and figures from different publishers are not necessarily measured the same way.
The Home Depot runs its own installation program: its services page quotes installed prices for custom wood pergolas by size and offers an in-home consultation. Whether it will install a kit bought elsewhere is not published. Lowe’s publishes no pergola installation price we could verify; ask the store.
Foundations, footings and deck mounting
Whether you need a foundation depends on what you already have. The louvered kits we checked are specified for anchoring to a flat concrete surface: Mirador and Erommy ship the expansion bolts, PergoLux and Yardistry do not. On a sound slab or a properly framed deck the foundation line may be zero plus anchoring. On lawn it is a slab or individual footings, and in a freeze-thaw climate those have to reach below the frost line, which is where the regional variation lives.
PergoLux publishes foundation plans for its Series 3 pergolas giving pad layouts and dimensions per size, but no concrete volume or price, so they cannot be turned into a cost. The figures below are third-party estimates for the work.
| Claim | As published | Source | What it does not cover |
|---|---|---|---|
| Concrete slab | $5–$10 per sq ft; foundations $4–$30 per sq ft; a slab or deck for a pergola $600–$4,300. | HomeGuideRead Sep 13, 2026 | Dated 1 Oct 2024; national ranges. |
| Concrete slab | About $600 per 100 sq ft. | AngiRead Sep 13, 2026 | 18 Mar 2026. |
| Footings in a freeze-thaw climate | “+$200–$500”. | Arrow Outdoor LivingRead Sep 13, 2026 | Unsourced contractor estimate. Recorded because it is the only ranking figure for the frost-line case. |
| Anchoring hardware | Mirador 111S / e-Motion: anchor bolts for a flat concrete surface included. Erommy louvered pergolas: expansion bolts included. PergoLux Pergola 4 / 4 Pro: anchoring hardware not included. Yardistry: anchoring hardware not provided; anchoring service $99–$149. | Manufacturer product pagesRead Sep 13, 2026 | Each brand’s own inclusion list, read on the date shown. |
These are claims as published by the named source on the date given. We have read the documents; we have not independently tested or certified any figure in this table, and figures from different publishers are not necessarily measured the same way.
Electrical work for motorized roofs and lighting
A manual pergola needs no electrical work. A motorized one needs a supply: PergoLux requires a standard 120 V outdoor outlet for the Pergola 4 Pro, BON’s Villa specifies 110 V at 2 A, and The Luxury Pergola ships a plug-in cord. If a weatherproof outlet already stands where the post will, this line is zero; if not, it is a new circuit or outlet, which your jurisdiction may require a licensed electrician and a permit for.
The code point that catches people: electrical work is exempt from a permit only below 25 volts and 50 watts (quoted below). A new 120 V outlet is not exempt; plugging listed equipment into an existing one may be. Your municipality decides.
| Claim | As published | Source | What it does not cover |
|---|---|---|---|
| New exterior outlet | $180–$350; electrician $50–$130 per hour; lighting $80–$300 per fixture. | HomeGuideRead Sep 13, 2026 | Dated 1 Oct 2024. |
| New exterior outlet for a motorized pergola | $150–$260. | Angi, “Motorized pergola cost”Read Sep 13, 2026 | Dated 8 Jul 2026. |
| Electrical permit exemption threshold | Electrical: listed or labeled portable equipment and “low-voltage” work below 25 volts and not capable of supplying more than 50 watts. | 2021 International Residential Code, R105.2 (ICC)Read Sep 13, 2026 | Model code. States and municipalities adopt and amend it; the local version governs. |
These are claims as published by the named source on the date given. We have read the documents; we have not independently tested or certified any figure in this table, and figures from different publishers are not necessarily measured the same way.
Permits
The model code most US jurisdictions build on exempts detached accessory structures under 200 sq ft from a building permit (quoted in full below). A freestanding 10×13 (130 sq ft) or 12×16 (192 sq ft) sits under that line; a 12×20 (240 sq ft) does not, and a pergola attached to the house is not a detached structure at all. Jurisdictions amend the threshold, and setbacks, HOA rules and floodplain overlays apply regardless. Only your building department can tell you that you do not need a permit.
Permit fees are small next to the other lines, and rarely quoted with a real fee schedule behind them. Here is one, alongside the published ranges.
| Claim | As published | Source | What it does not cover |
|---|---|---|---|
| Building permit exemption, detached accessory structure | “One-story detached accessory structures, provided that the floor area does not exceed 200 square feet (18.58 m²).” | 2021 International Residential Code, R105.2, Building item 1 (ICC)Read Sep 13, 2026 | Model code; local amendments vary. Exemption from a permit is not exemption from the code’s requirements. |
| Municipal fee example | “Fence, Shed, Gazebo, Pergola…” $75.00, with a second tier at $125.00; electrical permit $50.00 / $100.00. | Town of Irondequoit, NY, Building Permit Fee ScheduleRead Sep 13, 2026 | The tier labels were not captured in our read of the PDF; the fee amounts are as listed. One town, cited as an example of scale, not a national figure. |
| Permit fee ranges, secondary sources | HomeGuide $60–$150; Angi $50–$500; Arrow $50–$200; DoINeedAPermit building $150–$500 plus electrical $75–$200. | HomeGuide; Angi; Arrow Outdoor Living; doineedapermit.orgRead Sep 13, 2026 | None of these cite a fee schedule. |
These are claims as published by the named source on the date given. We have read the documents; we have not independently tested or certified any figure in this table, and figures from different publishers are not necessarily measured the same way.
Accessories: screens, blinds, lighting, heat
The kit price buys a roof on posts. The photographs on the product pages usually show it with side screens, lighting and heaters, all of which are priced separately. The figures below come straight from the manufacturers’ catalogs on the date shown.
| Accessory | Published price | Publisher |
|---|---|---|
| Roller blind, one side (10′ / 12′ / 16′ / 20′) | $219 / $249 / $309 / $349 | Purple Leaf |
| LED strip light | $170–$429 | Purple Leaf |
| Retractable screens | $1,038–$1,775 | PergoLux |
| Louver lighting (Signature) | $474–$1,694 | Paragon Outdoor |
| 3 kW heater with bracket | $709 | Paragon Outdoor |
| Sliding glass door | $2,065–$2,810 | Paragon Outdoor |
| Sliding adjustable shutter panel | $3,161–$4,012 | Paragon Outdoor |
| Solid composite privacy wall | $1,786–$2,821 | Paragon Outdoor |
Prices read from each manufacturer’s catalog on 13 Sep 2026; ranges span sizes. Paragon accessories are for its Signature series and may not fit other models. These prices are not tracked automatically and change without notice.
A set of four screens or shutters on a mid-priced louvered kit can cost as much as the kit. Some families bundle what others sell separately — BON’s Villa and Mirador’s 111S e-Motion include lighting, PergoLux’s Pergola 4 Pro includes beam LEDs — which is why the deltas in the next section are not purely the price of a motor.
How much more does a motorized pergola cost?
The premium quoted for a motorized louvered roof usually comes from the installed market, where a dealer-installed system is being set against a kit — two products in two markets. The measure that isolates the motor is one brand, one footprint, manual against motorized. Three brands sell both, pinned here to 10×13, the footprint most brands share. Read the deltas with the included-items list in mind: the Mirador e-Motion adds RGB lighting and a remote as well as the motor, the PergoLux Pro adds beam LEDs, app control and double-wall louvers, and the Hansø Horizon adds app and smart-home control with no published parts list to check against.
| Product | Size | Roof | Price | Per sq ft | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PergoLux Pergola 4 (manual crank) | 10×13 ft | Manual louvers | $5,595 | $43.04 | Sep 13, 2026PergoLux ↗ |
| PergoLux Pergola 4 Pro (motorized, beam LED, app) | 10×13 ft | Motorized louvers | $6,995 | $53.81 | Sep 13, 2026PergoLux ↗ |
| PergoLux Pergola 4 Pro Max (motorized, louver LED) | 10×13 ft | Motorized louvers | $10,145 | $78.04 | Sep 13, 2026PergoLux ↗ |
| Mirador 111S (manual crank) | 10×13 ft | Manual louvers | $1,899 | $14.61 | Sep 13, 2026Mirador Outdoor ↗ |
| Mirador 111S e-Motion (motorized, RGB LED, remote) | 10×13 ft | Motorized louvers | $3,299 | $25.38 | Sep 13, 2026Mirador Outdoor ↗ |
| Hansø Pro+ (manual crank) | 10×13 ft | Manual louvers | $7,587 | $58.36 | Sep 13, 2026Hansø Home ↗ |
| Hansø Horizon (motorized, app and smart-home control) | 10×13 ft | Motorized louvers | $9,363 | $72.02 | Sep 13, 2026Hansø Home ↗ |
| Hansø Apex (motorized, heavier line) | 10×13 ft | Motorized louvers | $14,950 | $115.00 | Sep 13, 2026Hansø Home ↗ |
Prices are the manufacturer’s published list price on the verified date, before tax and delivery. A price shown for one size is that size only. Per-square-foot figures divide the price by the nominal footprint and are computed by us; they are omitted for bracket kits, which have no footprint of their own. Cheapest finish at this size in each family. PergoLux Series 3 (Standard S3, Skydance S3) are clearance run-out lines superseded by Pergola 4 and are deliberately excluded from this comparison.
The delta within a family is in the low thousands, not the tens of thousands — though the project cost moves too, because a motorized roof needs a 120 V supply and possibly an electrical permit that a manual roof never needs. For contrast, Angi (8 Jul 2026) puts installed motorized systems at $3,900–$50,000+, average $13,700, with installed rates of manual $50–$110, motorized $60–$130 and “smart” $80–$180 per sq ft; HomeGuide (1 Oct 2024) gives $45–$110 / $55–$125 / $75–$175. Those include the dealer tier and are not comparable with the kit deltas above. Motorized pergolas lists every motorized family we have verified; Best louvered pergola brands ranks the brands.
Material and roof type at the same size
The per-square-foot bands published for pergola materials describe site builds, not kits, and kits do not follow them. The way to see that is to hold the footprint constant. At 10×12, one of the most common kit sizes, there are cedar, wood, steel and aluminum frames with canopy, open-slat and louvered roofs. The per-square-foot column is our own computation from the price and the nominal footprint.
| Product | Size | Roof | Price | Per sq ft | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sunjoy Metal Pergola with Retractable Canopy and Curved RoofSteel, retractable canopy | 10×12 ft | Manual retractable roof | $907.40 | $7.56 | Sep 13, 2026Sunjoy ↗ |
| Backyard Discovery Beaumont PergolaCedar, open slat | 12×10 ft | Open slat | $1,199 | $9.99 | Sep 13, 2026Backyard Discovery ↗ |
| EROMMY Louvered Pergola with Adjustable Rainproof RoofAluminum, manual louvered | 10×12 ft | Manual louvers | $1,299.99 | $10.83 | Sep 13, 2026Erommy ↗ |
| Backyard Discovery Stratford Steel PergolaSteel, open slat | 12×10 ft | Open slat | $1,999 | $16.66 | Sep 13, 2026Backyard Discovery ↗ |
| Backyard Discovery Sarasota Steel Louvered PergolaSteel, manual louvered | 12×10 ft | Manual louvers | $1,999 | $16.66 | Sep 13, 2026Backyard Discovery ↗ |
| Paragon Outdoor Grand Tuscan Louvered PergolaAluminum, manual louvered | 10×12 ft | Manual louvers | $1,799.99 | $15.00 | Sep 13, 2026Paragon Outdoor ↗ |
| Purple Leaf Caesar Louvered PergolaAluminum, manual louvered | 10×12 ft | Manual louvers | $1,849 | $15.41 | Sep 13, 2026Purple Leaf ↗ |
| Yardistry Aluminum Louver RoomAluminum, manual louvered | 10×12 ft | Manual louvers | $3,399.99 | $28.33 | Sep 13, 2026Yardistry ↗ |
| Yardistry Meridian Wooden Louvered PergolaCedar, manual louvered | 10×12 ft | Manual louvers | $3,799.99 | $31.67 | Sep 13, 2026Yardistry ↗ |
Prices are the manufacturer’s published list price on the verified date, before tax and delivery. A price shown for one size is that size only. Per-square-foot figures divide the price by the nominal footprint and are computed by us; they are omitted for bracket kits, which have no footprint of their own. Size pages: 10×12 pergolas, 12×12, 12×16. Material pages: cedar, aluminum, steel.
Two patterns show up. Within one family the per-square-foot figure falls as the footprint grows, because posts, motors and crank mechanisms are a fixed cost spread over more roof; the table below shows it inside a single family. And a louvered roof, not the frame material, is the biggest single step in kit price: the cedar louvered Yardistry sits with the aluminum louvered kits, not with the cedar open-slat ones.
| Product | Size | Roof | Price | Per sq ft | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Purple Leaf Caesar Louvered Pergola | 10×10 ft | Manual louvers | $1,799 | $17.99 | Sep 13, 2026Purple Leaf ↗ |
| Purple Leaf Caesar Louvered Pergola | 10×20 ft | Manual louvers | $3,399 | $17.00 | Sep 13, 2026Purple Leaf ↗ |
| Purple Leaf Caesar Louvered Pergola | 13×30 ft | Manual louvers | $6,199 | $15.89 | Sep 13, 2026Purple Leaf ↗ |
Prices are the manufacturer’s published list price on the verified date, before tax and delivery. A price shown for one size is that size only. Per-square-foot figures divide the price by the nominal footprint and are computed by us; they are omitted for bracket kits, which have no footprint of their own.
On running cost: wood needs restaining or resealing on a cycle no manufacturer here publishes, and aluminum does not. We have no sourced figure for that maintenance cost and will not invent one; the warranty text on each family page states what the manufacturer will and will not cover, which is the closest published proxy.
DIY build, kit, kit plus paid assembly, or custom build
Is it cheaper to buy a pergola or build one? There are four routes, and they are not four points on one line: a self-build from lumber costs your time and skill, a kit costs a known price plus a weekend, a kit with paid assembly costs a known price plus a published or quoted fee, and a custom site build costs a quote. The figures below are what people who have published numbers say each route costs. Every one is theirs, not ours.
| Route | Published figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Self-build from lumber | A timber-frame builder estimates DIY materials for its 10×10 heavy timber-frame design at about $4,700. | Enduria Structures (8 Jul 2025) |
| Kit, self-assembled | The kit price in the tables on this page, plus anchoring hardware where the brand excludes it. Brands claim 3–7 hours with two people (PergoLux), about four hours for two people (Mirador), or four to six people (Purple Leaf). | Manufacturer product pages (13 Sep 2026) |
| Kit plus paid assembly | Yardistry +$670–$1,140 by model; PergoLux $495 or a bespoke quote; independent assembler $600–$2,100 by size and scope (installation section above). | Yardistry and PergoLux product pages; ZOMG the Handyman (Mar 2026) |
| Custom site build, timber | 8×8 $4,152; 10×10 $5,177; 12×12 $6,265; 14×14 $7,346; 16×16 $9,325, including stain and a metal roof; attaching to the house about $770; each post eliminated about $290. | Enduria Structures, one Pennsylvania builder’s own quotes (8 Jul 2025) |
| Custom site build, retailer program | 10×12 $6,994; 12×12 $7,539; 12×16 $8,848 (custom wood, labor and materials). | The Home Depot (no date or method stated) |
A single builder’s quotes and a single retailer’s program are examples of scale, not national figures.
Cost is not the only variable: how hard the kit is to put up matters too, and no brand publishes that as a number. Each family page carries the manufacturer’s installation type (DIY, professional, or either) and the assembly wording from the product page, so you can price your own time against the assembly fees above.
Three worked examples: every line labeled
We do not add these up: the first line of each is a verified product price, and every line after it is somebody else’s estimate for somebody else’s region, named. They show the shape of a project at three points on the ladder.
Example 1: a wood open-slat kit on an existing patio
| Product | Size | Roof | Price | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yardistry 12 x 12 Pergola | 12×12 ft | Open slat | $2,039.99 | Sep 13, 2026Yardistry ↗ |
Prices are the manufacturer’s published list price on the verified date, before tax and delivery. A price shown for one size is that size only.
| Line | Published figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Professional assembly (optional) | $910 add-on on the product page | Yardistry, 13 Sep 2026 |
| Anchoring service (optional) | $99–$149 | Yardistry, 13 Sep 2026 |
| Foundation | None if the patio is sound; otherwise slab $5–$10 per sq ft | HomeGuide, 1 Oct 2024 |
| Electrical | None; no motor, no lighting | — |
| Permit | 144 sq ft detached: under the IRC 200 sq ft exemption, subject to local amendment; example fee $75–$125 | IRC R105.2; Irondequoit NY |
Example 2: a manual louvered aluminum kit, self-assembled
| Product | Size | Roof | Price | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mirador Outdoor 111S Louvered Pergola | 10×13 ft | Manual louvers | $1,899 | Sep 13, 2026Mirador Outdoor ↗ |
Prices are the manufacturer’s published list price on the verified date, before tax and delivery. A price shown for one size is that size only.
| Line | Published figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Assembly | Two people, about four hours, per the brand; anchor bolts included. Or $600–$1,200 for a 10×12 from one SoCal assembler | Mirador; ZOMG the Handyman, Mar 2026 |
| Foundation | Flat concrete surface required for the supplied anchors; slab $5–$10 per sq ft if none exists | Mirador; HomeGuide, 1 Oct 2024 |
| Electrical | None for the manual crank | — |
| Permit | 130 sq ft detached: under the IRC 200 sq ft exemption, subject to local amendment | IRC R105.2 |
| Side screens (optional) | Sold separately by the brand; no published price verified | Mirador |
Example 3: a motorized louvered kit with a new outlet
| Product | Size | Roof | Price | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PergoLux Pergola 4 Pro Motorized Louvered Pergola | 10×13 ft | Motorized louvers | $6,995 | Sep 13, 2026PergoLux ↗ |
Prices are the manufacturer’s published list price on the verified date, before tax and delivery. A price shown for one size is that size only.
| Line | Published figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Assembly | $495 assembly service (scope not stated), or a bespoke quote from the brand’s partner with no published price | PergoLux, 13 Sep 2026 |
| Foundation and anchoring | Foundation, footings and bolts excluded by the brand; slab $5–$10 per sq ft; freeze-thaw footings +$200–$500 (unsourced) | PergoLux; HomeGuide; Arrow |
| Electrical | A 120 V outdoor outlet is required; new outlet $150–$260 (Angi) or $180–$350 (HomeGuide) | PergoLux; Angi, 8 Jul 2026; HomeGuide |
| Permit | 130 sq ft detached: structure under the IRC exemption; the 120 V outlet is not (over 25 V / 50 W); electrical permit example $50–$100 | IRC R105.2; Irondequoit NY |
| Screens, walls (optional) | Retractable screens $1,038–$1,775 per the brand’s catalog | PergoLux, 13 Sep 2026 |
Does a pergola add value to a house?
No major dataset isolates pergolas. The National Association of Realtors and National Association of Landscape Professionals 2023 Remodeling Impact Report on outdoor features covers 11 projects — fire feature, in-ground pool, irrigation, landscape lighting, a new patio, a new wood deck, an outdoor kitchen among them — and has no pergola line. Zillow’s March 2026 analysis of listing features that sell for more, built on over two million 2025 listings, names docks, outdoor kitchens, outdoor showers and outdoor fireplaces, and does not mention pergolas.
Adjacent outdoor features show premiums in the low single digits, and nothing published isolates a pergola’s effect. We publish no return figure. Buy one because you will use it.
Sources, and how we handle a figure
Every product price here is the manufacturer’s own published price, read on the date shown on its row and linked to the page it came from. We publish the price charged on that date and never compute a discount, because several brands run permanent or contradictory “compare at” prices. Every figure for installation, ground, electrical and permits is a third party’s, and carries that publisher and date.
No brand paid for placement. Affiliate relationships do not affect which products we include, how we rank them, or what we recommend.
- Angi, “How Much Does It Cost to Build a Pergola?” · retrieved Sep 13, 2026 · dated 18 Mar 2026
- Angi, “How Much Does a Motorized Pergola Cost?” · retrieved Sep 13, 2026 · dated 8 Jul 2026
- Arrow Outdoor Living, “How Much Does a Pergola Cost?” · retrieved Sep 13, 2026 · dated 28 Jan 2026; figures are Angi’s rounded
- ASP SuperHome, pergola cost blog · retrieved Sep 13, 2026 · dated 7 Jun 2026; repeats Arrow
- HomeGuide, “How Much Does a Pergola Cost?” · retrieved Sep 13, 2026 · dated 1 Oct 2024
- Forbes Home, “Cost to Build a Pergola” · retrieved Sep 13, 2026 · dated 4 Sep 2024
- Homewyse, “Cost to Install a Wood Pergola” · retrieved Sep 13, 2026 · unit-cost model, May 2026 data
- The Home Depot, pergola installation cost page · retrieved Sep 13, 2026
- Enduria Structures, “How Much Does a Pergola Cost?” · retrieved Sep 13, 2026 · dated 8 Jul 2025
- ZOMG the Handyman, “Gazebo assembly cost” · retrieved Sep 13, 2026 · Mar 2026
- 2021 International Residential Code, Section R105.2 Work exempt from permit · retrieved Sep 13, 2026
- Town of Irondequoit, NY, Building Permit Fee Schedule (PDF) · retrieved Sep 13, 2026
- DoINeedAPermit.org, pergola permits · retrieved Sep 13, 2026
- StruXure, pricing page · retrieved Sep 13, 2026 · quote-only; no prices published
- NAR / NALP, 2023 Remodeling Impact Report: Outdoor Features · retrieved Sep 13, 2026 · no pergola line
- Zillow, 2026 home features that sell for more (press release, 24 Mar 2026) · retrieved Sep 13, 2026 · pergola not mentioned
- Manufacturer product pages for every family named on this page · retrieved Sep 13, 2026 · linked from each table row
- PergoLux Series 3 foundation plans (PDF, archived) · retrieved Sep 13, 2026 · pad dimensions only; no cost
Questions
Is it cheaper to buy a pergola kit or build one?
For an open-slat wood pergola the published evidence leans to the kit: one timber builder puts DIY materials for its 10×10 heavy timber-frame design at about $4,700, and the cedar kits verified here at that size cost a fraction of that before assembly. For a louvered aluminum roof there is no realistic self-build; the choice is kit against dealer-installed system. The DIY section gives each route with its sources.
How much does a 20×20 pergola cost?
There is no kit price to start from: no brand we have verified publishes a 20×20, and Pergola prices shows the largest published footprints. At 400 sq ft — twice the IRC permit exemption — you are in custom-build or dealer-installed territory, where every published figure is a quote and a permit is near certain. We will not estimate it.
How much does it cost to install a 10×10 pergola?
It depends which of the two jobs you mean. Assembling a 10×10 kit on an existing slab is a few hours for two people by the brands’ own claims, with independent assemblers charging in the hundreds for that size. Building one from scratch with footings is a site build: one Pennsylvania builder quotes about $5,177 for its 10×10 design, and national estimates run from about $2,000 to $6,000 installed. The installation section gives each figure with its publisher.
Will Home Depot or Lowe’s install a pergola?
The Home Depot runs an installation program and publishes installed prices for custom wood pergolas by size on its services page, with an in-home consultation. Lowe’s publishes no equivalent price page we could verify, and neither retailer publishes whether it will install a kit bought elsewhere; ask the store.
Do I need a permit for a pergola?
The model code (IRC R105.2) exempts one-story detached accessory structures up to 200 sq ft from a building permit, but municipalities amend it, attached pergolas are not detached structures, and a motorized roof’s 120 V outlet is not covered by the electrical exemption. Only your building department can answer for your address.
Are louvered or motorized pergolas worth the extra cost?
Within a single brand at the same footprint, the motorized version costs a few thousand dollars more than the manual one, often with lighting and controls included in that difference. Whether that is worth it depends on how often you would actually adjust the roof. A premium quoted in the tens of thousands is comparing a dealer-installed system with a kit, which is a different comparison; see the manual-versus-motorized table above.
Does a pergola increase home value?
No major dataset isolates pergolas: the NAR/NALP outdoor remodeling report has no pergola line and Zillow’s 2026 listing analysis does not mention them. We publish no return figure.