How hard is it to install a pergola kit yourself?
A boxed kit is a manageable DIY job: brands usually say two people, some manuals ask for three or more, and estimates run from about 1.5 to 16 hours. The hard part is what the box leaves out: concrete, anchors and, for a motorized roof, power. Check your manual and inclusion list before you order.
What assembly, footings and an outlet cost is in Pergola cost, and permits are in our pergola permit guide. If you would rather pay someone, go to paid assembly.
Updated Oct 11, 2026 · How we chose

Which part of the job worries you
- You will not hire anyone
- See the crew and hours each brand states
- You cannot find three or four helpers
- Check the crew your manual asks for, not the product page
- You want to cut your own lumber
- That is a bracket kit such as Toja Grid, and the lumber is not in the box
- You have no concrete slab
- Several brands send the foundation to a professional
- The roof is motorized
- BON plugs into an outlet; Mirador wants a licensed electrician
- You would rather pay someone
- See which brands sell or refer assembly
How long it takes, and how many people
Most brands that name a crew say two people. Four ask for three or more somewhere in their own documents, and Mirador is in both groups. Four say nothing about a crew.
Hours run from about 1.5 to 16, by kit and size. A blank in the table means the brand’s pages say nothing, not that the job is easy.
Watch out: a brand’s product page and its manual often give different crew sizes and times for the same kit. Mirador’s product pages say two people, its help center recommends 4 to 6, and its four-pillar manual asks for four people for one phase. Follow the manual, because it carries the safety wording.
| Brand | Crew | Hours | Pre-drilled or pre-cut | Brand’s own wording on difficulty | Pages |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Backyard Discovery | Not stated | Not stated | Wood: pre-cut, pre-drilled, pre-stained. Steel: pre-fabricated, pre-drilled | “Ready to Assemble”, with app-guided steps | Beaumont, Sarasota |
| BON | At least 2 | 3–4 to 3–8, by model. Grand Retractable 8–16. Excludes leveling, wiring and footing prep | Not stated | Grand Retractable: “expect longer installation hours” | Q&A, Villa, Grand |
| Erommy | 1–2, 3 or 4, depending on the listing | About 1.5–2 (retractable), about 2 (drainage listing) | Pre-drilled bases (retractable) | Not stated | Drainage, Retractable, Manual |
| Hansø | 2 | 2–4 (Pro+, Horizon), 4–6 (Apex) | “Pre-assembled CNC-machined parts” | Compares it to “high-end IKEA furniture” | Pro+, Apex |
| Mirador | 2 (product pages), 4–6 recommended (help center), 4 or 6 for one phase (manuals) | About 4 (product pages), 4–8 (comparison page) | Manual: holes “predrilled or fitted for assembly” | Not stated | 111S, Help center, Comparison |
| Paragon | 2 | 2.5–5, by model; one day for the Riviera. Lugano gives 4 and 4–8 | Pre-drilled anchor plates | Its own label per model: Easy, Moderate, More Time Consuming | Lugano, Suprema |
| PergoLux | 2 | 3–7 (Pergola 4, 4 Pro), 4–8 (4 Pro Max) | Pre-drilled components, color-coded hardware | Spec field reads “DIY-friendly” | 4 Pro, 4 Pro Max |
| Purple Leaf | 4–6 on most Caesar listings, 2–3 on another | Not stated | Pre-assembled main frame (one listing) | Not stated | Caesar, Caesar solar |
| Sunjoy | Not stated | “A few hours” | Pre-drilled holes | Not stated | Palladio |
| The Luxury Pergola | Manual: at least three adults | Not stated | Nothing for you to cut or grind | Manual: “technical knowledge is necessary” | Signature, Manual |
| Toja Grid | Not stated | Not stated | Bracket kit: you supply the lumber | Build page lists a ladder, a drill and a tape measure | Build page, FAQ |
| Yardistry | Not stated | Not stated | Wood: pre-cut, pre-drilled, pre-stained | Not stated | 12×12 |
Hours are the brand’s estimate for its own kit, in hours of work for the crew named, not a test. “Not stated” means the brand’s pages say nothing. Brand names link to our brand pages; the last column links the brand’s own pages.
Four kinds of kit, four kinds of job
Boxed aluminum and steel kits are the plainest job: the frame, roof and hardware come in the box, and the brand gives a crew and a time. A bracket kit is the most work, because you buy, cut and fit the lumber. For made-to-order kits, read the last row twice.
| Kind | What the brand’s own words say | Brands here |
|---|---|---|
| Boxed, pre-drilled aluminum or steel | Frame, roof and hardware in the box; the brand gives a crew and an assembly time | BON, Erommy, Hansø, Mirador, Paragon, PergoLux, Purple Leaf, Sunjoy, Backyard Discovery (steel) |
| Boxed, pre-cut wood | “Pre-cut, pre-drilled, and pre-stained” pieces and illustrated or app-guided instructions | Backyard Discovery, Yardistry |
| Bracket kit | Brackets and screws only. Lumber is not included, and Toja says anchoring hardware is not either | Toja Grid: FAQ |
| Made to order, or installed through a network | The Luxury Pergola’s manual asks for a professional if you are unsure. Paragon’s Signature is “fully custom”. StruXure sells only through dealers who quote the installation | The Luxury Pergola, Paragon Signature, StruXure; see PergoLux vs StruXure |
Kinds are ours; every row is the brand’s own wording.
With a bracket kit the quality of the build is yours. Open the box lists below and look at what Toja leaves out before you price the weekend. The bracket-kit brands side by side are in Toja Grid vs Bjorn vs Zen.
What is in each box: Toja Grid, PergoLux 4 Pro and Mirador 111S
Toja Grid Any Size Pergola Kit: what is and is not in the box: Toja Grid Any Size Pergola Kit
Included
- 4x SOLO base/wall brackets
- 4x TRIO corner brackets
- 1-1/2" Pan Rob/Phil combo drive 304 S.S wood screws with black plastic head caps
Not included
- Lumber — the buyer supplies all wood: "Why is lumber NOT included? ... shipping wood is extremely expensive and most populations will have access to local stores that sell wood." (FAQ)
- Anchoring hardware — "Remember, anchoring hardware is NOT included as surfaces will vary from build to build." (build guide / FAQ)
- Additional screws and head caps beyond 2 screws per bracket side — "extra screws and caps are available for purchase." (FAQ / Structure Kits)
- Foundations — "Foundations and existing structures are to be designed/reviewed by your own engineer and are not part of the scope of the details." (Structure Kits)
- Tools — the build guide lists ladder(s), drill(s) and measuring tape as what you need
- Any roof, top or shade — SHADE SAIL, Wave Shade and other tops are separate products
Last verified Toja Grid (opens in a new tab)
PergoLux Pergola 4 Pro: what is and is not in the box: PergoLux Pergola 4 Pro Motorized Louvered Pergola
Included
- Electronic motorized louvered roof (double-wall louvers)
- Beam-integrated dimmable LED light strips
- Remote control for roof and accessories (range up to 130 ft)
- App and smart home control (Bluetooth, Matter; Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings)
- Pre-assembled roof panels with click-in installation
- Two SnapFIT accessory channels per rain gutter
- Assembly instructions (PERGOLUX app, video and printable PDF manuals)
Not included
- Anchoring bolts (spec table: "Anchoring Hardware: Bolts not Included")
- Electrical supply - a standard outdoor outlet (120V) is required
- Retractable screens, wooden slat walls and glass walls (sold separately)
- PERGOLUX heater (optional, sold separately)
- Foundation and footings
- Professional assembly (optional, via Elite Tech Installs)
Last verified PergoLux (opens in a new tab)
Mirador 111S: what is and is not in the box: Mirador Outdoor 111S Louvered Pergola
Included
- Anchor / expansion bolts for fixing to a flat concrete surface
- Dedicated toolbox for attaching all screws, bolts and other parts
- Assembly manual and instruction videos
Not included
- Sidewalls — shutter walls, pull-down screens and sliding doors sold separately
- Professional installation (Mirador refers certified installers on request)
Last verified Mirador Outdoor (opens in a new tab)
What your ground and anchors need
Your ground decides the job. Mirador’s warranty names flat concrete, and its manual sends you to a contractor for a concrete base if you have none. PergoLux sends larger concrete or strip foundations to professionals. A deck needs its own check: see pergola over a deck.
A paver patio is not automatically a base. Mirador’s help center says pavers are generally not suitable unless the anchor reaches a solid foundation underneath.
Footing size comes from your manual and your building department. Call 811 before anyone digs, as Mirador’s manual says.
Watch out: anchors are not always in the box. Yardistry and Toja say theirs are not included, so check your kit’s list. The PergoLux and Mirador lists in the box toggle are two examples.
The cost of a slab or footings is in Pergola cost. If the brand says call a contractor for the base, treat that as the brand telling you where its kit stops.
Motorized roofs: who connects the power
Skip this section if your roof is manual. If it is motorized, the brands split three ways: plug it into an outlet, hard-wire it, or have a licensed electrician do it. Whether the work needs a permit is your building department’s call.
| Brand | What it says |
|---|---|
| BON | “You do not need an electrician… plug the plug into a regular 110V outlet.” To hard-wire into a breaker, “you would need to hire an electrician”. |
| Erommy | Its Electric Louvered page describes a “dual power supply system” with solar charging and a USB input. It states no mains outlet and no electrician. |
| Hansø | The kit pages state no outlet. Its installer scope says installers may coordinate “Electrical connection by a licensed electrician”. |
| Mirador | e-Motion manual: “Mirador electric pergolas should only be connected to power sources that have been installed by a licensed electrical contractor.” The product page lists “Power 100-240V”. |
| Paragon | Signature: “Electricity Required: No”, low voltage, “Standard 5-15 plug”. |
| PergoLux | Pergola 4: “Electrical Required: No”. Pro: “Standard outdoor outlet (120V)”. Its paid assembly “doesn’t include… electrical hardwiring”. |
| The Luxury Pergola | “Plug in 120V Power Cord”; its page says to plug it into “a standard 3 prong, 110 volt outlet”. |
Brand statements, not electrical advice. The Mirador warning is the manual’s; follow the manual for your model and your local rules for the circuit.
The motors, controls and sensors are compared in the motorized pergola comparison, and the power each kit draws is on Motorized pergolas. What an outlet adds to the bill is in Pergola cost.
If you would rather not build it yourself
Most brands will point you to somebody, and few do the work themselves. The table shows what each brand offers and who does the work. Prices are in Pergola cost.
| Brand | What the brand says it offers | Who does the work, per the brand |
|---|---|---|
| Backyard Discovery | An assembly add-on, “scheduled on a different day than delivery” | “professional third-party contractors” |
| BON | Tells you to find “a local contractor or handyman”, and says it sometimes has a dealer nearby | You hire |
| Erommy | A “Need Assembly Service? Book Now!” link on its listings | The link goes to BlueFiks, a third-party service |
| Hansø | A professional installation quote with a “2-Year Workmanship Warranty”, or “hire your own installer” | Certified installers in Hansø’s network |
| Mirador | Says it has “partnered with BlueFiks” for installation by a certified installer | BlueFiks |
| Paragon | Not stated | Not stated |
| PergoLux | A professional assembly add-on and an installation quote | Elite Tech Installs, which PergoLux names as its partner |
| Purple Leaf | Some Caesar listings link a “Third-party Assembly Service” and say the team can recommend third-party installers. The Caesar solar listing says “PURPLE LEAF does not provide installation service.” | A third-party service, per the listing’s link (Assembly Help) |
| Sunjoy | Says it works with Assembly Help to match you with a “local service provider” | Assembly Help’s providers |
| The Luxury Pergola | A network of independent installers: “You hire and pay them directly”, “typically a 1-2 day install” | Independent installers |
| Toja Grid | Not stated | Not stated |
| Yardistry | A paid assembly add-on, with a “30-day workmanship warranty” | “the assembly company” |
Assembly Help and BlueFiks are named as the brands name them. We have not vetted either and link neither.
Watch out: the wait for an installer varies by brand, so ask for the date in writing. Yardistry’s product page gives 4–6 weeks, 6–8 weeks and 6–12 weeks in three places. PergoLux’s service page says installs are scheduled “within 1-2 weeks of product delivery”, while a product-page answer says “a few weeks”.
Will building it yourself void the warranty?
No. None of the nine warranties we found says that building the kit yourself voids it. Each excludes improper installation or ties cover to the manual, so follow the manual and keep photos of the work.
Four say more about who did the work. PergoLux excludes “work done by contractors”. Hansø and Mirador ask the installer’s name in a claim. The Luxury Pergola gives no warranty on the installation itself.
Ask the brand in writing whether a self-install changes your cover, and keep the answer with the receipt.
Watch out: Erommy does not take a kit back for being hard to assemble unless you show it is defective, and returns must be unassembled.
The warranty wording, brand by brand
We read nine warranty documents on 9 October 2026: PergoLux, Hansø, Mirador, Paragon, BON, The Luxury Pergola, Erommy, Yardistry and Toja Grid. None says in those words that installing the kit yourself voids the warranty. Each excludes improper installation or ties cover to the manual.
Backyard Discovery says each product’s manual holds its warranty, and we did not read those manuals. The Purple Leaf policy page we read says nothing about installation, and we found no Sunjoy warranty page.
| Claim | As published | Source | What it does not cover |
|---|---|---|---|
| PergoLux | “Follow all provided installation and maintenance instructions”; “Complete installation within 6 months of purchase”. Not covered: “Improper installation, modification, or unauthorized repairs” and “Third-party damage, including vandalism or work done by contractors”. | PergoLux, product warrantyRead Oct 9, 2026 | PergoLux’s assembly page says professional installation “keeps your PERGOLUX warranty intact”, and its product page says a general contractor can install the kit from the same instructions. Nothing says what a self-install does either way. |
| Hansø | The customer “must complete the installation of our Pergolas by following the provided manual”. Excluded: “Direct or indirect damage resulting from incorrectly following the installation manual” and damage from installation “by any person who does not meet the guidelines referred to by the Pergolas Installation Manual”. | Hansø Home, warrantyRead Oct 9, 2026 | A claim must give “the name of the installer”. The warranty also excludes “attachment to buildings”, while the product pages offer wall-mounted versions. |
| Mirador | Not covered: damage from “assembly, installation… not in accordance with instruction manual” and from “installing the product on an unsuitable surface”. | Mirador Outdoor, Bioclimatic pergola warranty documentRead Oct 9, 2026 | A complaint must name “the company which installed the product if a 3rd party was used”. |
| Paragon | Assembly manual: “Any errors made during installation are not covered by the product’s warranty.” Warranty valid “only if the product is installed… in accordance with Paragon Outdoor’s written recommendations”. | Paragon Outdoor, Lugano assembly manualRead Oct 9, 2026 | Other Paragon manuals carry the same wording. |
| BON | “Coverage is void if the product is not installed and maintained according to BON Pergola’s published instructions.” Excluded: “Improper installation, reinstallation, or incorrect measurements”. | BON Pergola, warrantyRead Oct 9, 2026 | Damage from “improper wiring” voids the electrical part of the cover. |
| The Luxury Pergola | “As the manufacturer SEE Enterprises provides no warranty on the installation itself.” Excluded: damage from “improper installation (i.e. contravention to building code, SEE Enterprises guidelines or engineering documentation)”. | The Luxury Pergola, warrantyRead Oct 9, 2026 | SEE Enterprises is the manufacturer named in the warranty. Installation labor charges are the owner’s in all cases. |
| Erommy, warranty and returns | Warranty: “Damage caused by weather, improper installation, misuse, accidents, or normal wear and tear is not covered.” Returns: “We don’t process return requests caused by subjective assembly issues (hard to assemble, fail to assemble etc.) unless you provide any clear evidence/pictures to confirm the item is defective.” | Erommy, warranty and returns pageRead Oct 9, 2026 | The same page requires returned items to be unassembled. If a kit turns out harder than you expected, Erommy does not treat that as a reason to return it. |
| Yardistry | Not covered: “improper use or installation”. “Modification voids any and all warranties.” Its assembly service carries a separate “30-day workmanship warranty”. | Yardistry, warranty and assembly services pagesRead Oct 9, 2026 | The 30 days is the assembly company’s, not Yardistry’s product warranty. |
| Toja Grid | Products are warranted “when properly specified, installed and maintained”, and not for “accidental damage caused during installation”. | Toja, warrantyRead Oct 9, 2026 | Applies to brackets and tops; the lumber is yours. |
These are claims as published by the named source on the date given. We have read the documents; we have not independently tested or certified any figure in this table, and figures from different publishers are not necessarily measured the same way.
Do you need a permit?
Call your building department before you order: only they can say you don’t need a permit. Our pergola permit guide checks your size, roof and wiring against the rules of 24 US places, and lists the documents to get from the seller first.
Sources (50)
- PergoLux, Pergola 4 Pro product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- PergoLux, Pergola 4 Pro Max product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- PergoLux, professional assembly service · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- PergoLux, product warranty · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- PergoLux, anchoring guide · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- PergoLux, foundation guide · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- PergoLux, assembly guide · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Hansø Home, Pro+ product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Hansø Home, Apex product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Hansø Home, warranty · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Mirador Outdoor, 111S product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Mirador Outdoor, help center · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Mirador Outdoor, pergolas comparison page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Mirador Outdoor, 111 Bioclimatic four-pillar manual · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Mirador Outdoor, 111 Bioclimatic six-pillar manual · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Mirador Outdoor, 111 e-Motion manual · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Mirador Outdoor, Bioclimatic pergola warranty · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Paragon Outdoor, Lugano product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Paragon Outdoor, Suprema product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Paragon Outdoor, Signature product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Paragon Outdoor, Lugano assembly manual · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- BON Pergola, Q&A · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- BON Pergola, Villa product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- BON Pergola, Grand Retractable product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- BON Pergola, warranty · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Erommy, drainage listing · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Erommy, retractable listing · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Erommy, 10×10 louvered manual · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Erommy, warranty and returns · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Purple Leaf, Caesar listing · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Purple Leaf, Caesar solar listing · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Sunjoy, Palladio product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Sunjoy, assembly service page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- The Luxury Pergola, Signature product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- The Luxury Pergola, installation and permitting page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- The Luxury Pergola, Signature assembly manual · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- The Luxury Pergola, warranty · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Toja, single any-size pergola build page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Toja, FAQ · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Toja, structure kits page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Toja, warranty · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Yardistry, 12×12 Pergola product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Yardistry, Meridian product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Yardistry, assembly services · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Yardistry, warranty · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Backyard Discovery, Beaumont product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Backyard Discovery, Sarasota product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Backyard Discovery, Evanston product page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- Backyard Discovery, assembly services · retrieved Oct 9, 2026
- StruXure, home page · retrieved Oct 9, 2026 · dealer-installed only
Questions
Can I install a pergola kit myself?
Yes, for a boxed kit. Brands usually say two people, and some manuals ask for three or more. The Luxury Pergola’s manual says to contact a professional if you are unsure of the site, the tools or your skills. Several brands send the foundation or hard-wired power to a professional. Crew, hours and tools by brand.
How long does it take to install a pergola kit?
About 1.5 to 16 hours, by the brands’ own estimates, depending on kit and size. Mirador, Hansø, BON and Paragon each give more than one figure for a single model, so plan around the longer one. That is our rule of thumb, not a safety rating. See the time and crew table.
Do I need an electrician for a motorized pergola?
Not always. BON says its Villa plugs into a regular outlet and needs an electrician only to hard-wire. Mirador’s e-Motion manual says power sources should be installed by a licensed electrical contractor. Your building department decides what needs a permit. See power.
Will installing it myself void the warranty?
No. None of the nine warranties we found says so in those words. Each excludes improper installation or ties cover to the manual, and four say something about who did the work. Follow the manual, keep photos and ask the brand in writing. See the warranty section.
Do I need a permit to install a pergola?
Ask your building department, because only they can say. Our pergola permit guide checks your size, roof and wiring against the rules of 24 US places, and lists what to ask the seller for first.
Related pergola news
New releases
A half-ton delivery is just the start of this pergola project
Backyard Discovery's Ridgeline has a roof owners can adjust for sun, wind and snow. Getting it installed begins with the surface beneath it.
