Best overallBest pergola kits for 2026
Pergola kits run continuously from canopy pergolas under about $1,000, through cedar and manual louvered kits in the low thousands, to motorized louvered kits from about $3,000 up to the Hansø Apex and BON systems at the top of the range, with dealer-installed systems as a separate market above that. Our picks are one kit per tier, chosen from manufacturer-verified prices, sizes, inclusion lists and warranty wording.
A fabric-canopy pergola and a motorized louvered roof are different products, so this guide is organized by tier, from canopy kits at the bottom through cedar, manual louvered and motorized, to bracket kits priced without the lumber and quote-only systems above them all.
If you already know you want a louvered roof, the best louvered pergola brands guide ranks that field brand by brand. If you are deciding between a kit and a contractor, or want to know what the kit price leaves out, see how much a pergola costs.
The Pergola Kit’s editorial guide, updated Sep 14, 2026. Product facts come from the manufacturer, each with the date we last verified it.

Everything we recommend
Best overallBest overallDouble-layer aluminum louvers in five sizes, anchors and a toolbox in the box, and a four-plus-one-year warranty, at a mid-tier price. See the 111DA Louvered Pergola
Best valueEROMMY Louvered Pergola with Adjustable Rainproof Roof
From $1,299.99
Aluminum | Manual louvers | 10×10 – 12×24 ft
Best valueErommy’s louvered line starts below every other brand’s here, and this kit is sold in seven sizes up to 12×24 with side curtains and mesh netting included. The trade is a one-year warranty from shipment that excludes weather damage. See the EROMMY Louvered Pergola with Adjustable Rainproof Roof
Best woodBest woodPre-cut, pre-drilled, pre-stained cedar in eight sizes from 10×10 to 24×12, the widest wood ladder in our database, and a five-year warranty. See the Beaumont Pergola
Best motorizedBest motorizedMotor, beam-integrated LED and app control included, seven sizes, and a published price for every one of them, on the same frame as the manual Pergola 4. See the Pergola 4 Pro Motorized Louvered Pergola
Best steelBest steelThe freestanding steel louvered kit: galvanized steel in six sizes to 20×10, with integrated gutters, a louver wand and a three-outlet power hub in the box, and a five-year warranty. The cheaper Evanston is wall-mounted only; the Ridgeline costs more than twice as much. See the Sarasota Steel Louvered Pergola
Best size rangeBest size rangeSold in 17 footprints, the longest size ladder in our database, so a published size is more likely to match the space you have. One-year warranty; you install it. See the Caesar Louvered Pergola
Best bracket systemBest bracket systemBrackets, screws and a five-year bracket warranty; you set the size. The kit price excludes the lumber, anchoring, foundations and any roof or shade system. See the Any Size Pergola Kit
Best premium DIY systemThe Luxury Pergola® (Signature Series)
From $13,100.17
Aluminum | Motorized louvers
Lifetime, Transferable
Best premium DIY systemA lifetime transferable warranty in the manufacturer’s wording, the longest term of any kit brand in our database, on a motorized roof configurable to a non-standard size with a published starting price. You buy it as components and manage final assembly. See the The Luxury Pergola® (Signature Series)
Comparison snapshot
| Field | EROMMY Louvered Pergola with Adjustable Rainproof Roof | Backyard Discovery Beaumont Pergola | Mirador Outdoor 111DA Louvered Pergola | PergoLux Pergola 4 Pro Motorized Louvered Pergola |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price from | $1,299.99 | $1,099 Lowest | $2,399 | $5,193 |
| Sizes | 10×10 – 12×24 ft | 10×10 – 24×12 ft | 10×10 – 13×20 ft | 10×10 – 13×19 ft |
| Frame material | Aluminum | Cedar | Aluminum | Aluminum |
| Roof | Louvered | Open slat | Louvered | Louvered |
| Operation | Manual | — Not applicable | Manual | Motorized |
| Mounting | Freestanding | Freestanding | Freestanding | — Not stated by the manufacturer |
| Installation | DIY or professional | DIY or professional | DIY or professional | DIY or professional |
Pergola kits and dealer-installed systems are two markets
Kit prices do not sit at two extremes with a gap between them. Across every dimensioned kit variant we have verified the ladder is continuous, and the widest tier is the manual louvered one in the middle of it. The tier tables below name the products on each rung.
What sits above the ladder is a different purchase, not a higher rung. Dealer-designed, dealer-installed louvered systems publish no list price at all; the three sources closest to that transaction — a cost-data publisher, a StruXure dealer and a competing installer — all report roughly $150–200 per square foot installed, which is an expectation to take into a dealer meeting rather than a price. The table below is the kit side of that line, at one footprint.
| Product | Size | Roof | Price | Per sq ft | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sunjoy Palladio Adjustable Canopy Metal Pergolasteel, sliding canopy | 12×14 ft | Manual retractable roof | $1,267.58 | $7.55 | Sep 13, 2026Sunjoy ↗ |
| Backyard Discovery Beaumont Pergolacedar, open trellis roof | 14×12 ft | Open slat | $1,599 | $9.52 | Sep 13, 2026Backyard Discovery ↗ |
| Backyard Discovery Stratford Steel Pergolasteel, open slat roof | 14×12 ft | Open slat | $2,499 | $14.88 | Sep 13, 2026Backyard Discovery ↗ |
| Backyard Discovery Windham Modern Steel Pergola With Sail Shade Soft Canopysteel, sail shade canopy | 14×12 ft | Canopy | $1,799 | $10.71 | Sep 13, 2026Backyard Discovery ↗ |
| Paragon Outdoor Grand Tuscan Louvered Pergolaaluminum, manual louvers | 12×14 ft | Manual louvers | $2,519.99 | $15.00 | Sep 13, 2026Paragon Outdoor ↗ |
| Backyard Discovery Ridgeline Steel Louvered Pergolasteel, gabled louvered roof | 14×12 ft | Manual louvers | $4,299 | $25.59 | Sep 13, 2026Backyard Discovery ↗ |
| Yardistry Aluminum Louver Roomaluminum, manual louvers | 12×14 ft | Manual louvers | $4,299.99 | $25.60 | Sep 13, 2026Yardistry ↗ |
| Paragon Outdoor Lugano Louvered Pergolaaluminum, manual louvers | 12×14 ft | Manual louvers | $4,499.99 | $26.79 | Sep 13, 2026Paragon Outdoor ↗ |
| Paragon Outdoor Suprema Louvered Pergolaaluminum, manual louvers | 12×14 ft | Manual louvers | $4,799.99 | $28.57 | Sep 13, 2026Paragon Outdoor ↗ |
Prices are the manufacturer’s published list price on the verified date, before tax and delivery. A price shown for one size is that size only. Per-square-foot figures divide the price by the nominal footprint and are computed by us; they are omitted for bracket kits, which have no footprint of their own. No motorized kit we have verified is sold at exactly 12×14; the nearest motorized footprints are 12×16 (Erommy Electric) and 13×13 (PergoLux, BON). Dealer-installed systems such as StruXure publish no price and are not in this table.
Pergola kit price tiers, with the kits in each
Each tier shows the cheapest size of the kits we have verified in it, at the manufacturer’s list price on the verified date. Several brands run near-permanent promotions, so the live page is linked and no discount is computed.
Canopy and retractable-roof pergolas: under about $1,000
Steel or aluminum frames with a fabric canopy that slides or is fixed. They are shade, not shelter: the fabric is not a rain roof and the frames are light. Sunjoy and Purple Leaf publish no warranty for these products.
| Product | Size | Roof | Price | Per sq ft | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sunjoy Palladio Adjustable Canopy Metal Pergolasteel frame, sliding canopy | 9×9 ft | Manual retractable roof | $289.20 | $3.57 | Sep 13, 2026Sunjoy ↗ |
| Purple Leaf Outdoor Pergola with Retractable Canopy Aluminum Shelteraluminum frame, retractable canopy | 10×10 ft | Manual retractable roof | $310 | $3.10 | Sep 13, 2026Purple Leaf ↗ |
| EROMMY Retractable Pergola with Dual-Side Telescopic Sun Shade Canopyaluminum frame, retractable canopy | 10×13 ft | Manual retractable roof | $299.99 | $2.31 | Sep 13, 2026Erommy ↗ |
| Backyard Discovery Brendan Sail Shade Pergolacedar frame, sail shade | 12×10 ft | Canopy | $699 | $5.83 | Sep 13, 2026Backyard Discovery ↗ |
| Paragon Outdoor Florence Soft Top Pergolaaluminum frame, retractable soft top | 11×11 ft | Manual retractable roof | $799.99 | $6.61 | Sep 13, 2026Paragon Outdoor ↗ |
Prices are the manufacturer’s published list price on the verified date, before tax and delivery. A price shown for one size is that size only. Per-square-foot figures divide the price by the nominal footprint and are computed by us; they are omitted for bracket kits, which have no footprint of their own.
Wood kits: cedar and other lumber
Cedar kits arrive pre-cut, pre-drilled and usually pre-stained, with an open trellis roof: partial shade, no rain cover. They ask something the aluminum kits do not, periodic restaining or resealing, and neither brand here publishes a maintenance interval, so we do not invent one. See all wood and cedar kits.
| Product | Size | Roof | Price | Per sq ft | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Backyard Discovery Beaumont Pergolacedar, 8 sizes | 10×10 ft | Open slat | $1,099 | $10.99 | Sep 13, 2026Backyard Discovery ↗ |
| Sunjoy Wooden Pergola with Privacy Screen & Hanging Planters, 10x10cedar, privacy screen | 10×10 ft | Open slat | $915.74 | $9.16 | Sep 13, 2026Sunjoy ↗ |
| Yardistry 10 x 14 Madison Pergolacedar | 10×14 ft | Open slat | $1,799.99 | $12.86 | Sep 13, 2026Yardistry ↗ |
| Backyard Discovery Ashland Pergolacedar, built-in bar top | 14×10 ft | Open slat | $1,499 | $10.71 | Sep 13, 2026Backyard Discovery ↗ |
| Yardistry 12 x 12 Pergolawood | 12×12 ft | Open slat | $2,039.99 | $14.17 | Sep 13, 2026Yardistry ↗ |
| Yardistry Meridian Wooden Louvered Pergolacedar frame, aluminum louvered roof | 10×12 ft | Manual louvers | $3,799.99 | $31.67 | Sep 13, 2026Yardistry ↗ |
Prices are the manufacturer’s published list price on the verified date, before tax and delivery. A price shown for one size is that size only. Per-square-foot figures divide the price by the nominal footprint and are computed by us; they are omitted for bracket kits, which have no footprint of their own.
Manual louvered kits: the middle of the market
A louvered roof closes for rain and opens for sun, adjusted by a crank or wand. It is the widest tier we have verified, running from the cheapest louvered kits through single and double-layer louvers to the kits whose manual version shares a frame with a motorized sibling. See every louvered pergola.
| Product | Size | Roof | Price | Per sq ft | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EROMMY Louvered Pergola with Adjustable Rainproof Roofaluminum, curtains included | 10×12 ft | Manual louvers | $1,299.99 | $10.83 | Sep 13, 2026Erommy ↗ |
| Mirador Outdoor 111S Louvered Pergolasingle-layer louvers | 10×10 ft | Manual louvers | $1,459 | $14.59 | Sep 13, 2026Mirador Outdoor ↗ |
| Purple Leaf Caesar Louvered Pergolaaluminum, 17 sizes | 10×10 ft | Manual louvers | $1,799 | $17.99 | Sep 13, 2026Purple Leaf ↗ |
| Paragon Outdoor Grand Tuscan Louvered Pergolaaluminum | 10×12 ft | Manual louvers | $1,799.99 | $15.00 | Sep 13, 2026Paragon Outdoor ↗ |
| Backyard Discovery Sarasota Steel Louvered Pergolagalvanized steel | 10×10 ft | Manual louvers | $1,899 | $18.99 | Sep 13, 2026Backyard Discovery ↗ |
| Mirador Outdoor 111DA Louvered Pergoladouble-layer louvers | 10×10 ft | Manual louvers | $2,399 | $23.99 | Sep 13, 2026Mirador Outdoor ↗ |
| Paragon Outdoor Lugano Louvered Pergolaaluminum | 10×12 ft | Manual louvers | $3,199.99 | $26.67 | Sep 13, 2026Paragon Outdoor ↗ |
| Yardistry Aluminum Louver Roomdouble-layer louvers | 10×12 ft | Manual louvers | $3,399.99 | $28.33 | Sep 13, 2026Yardistry ↗ |
| PergoLux Pergola 4 Manual Louvered Pergoladouble-wall louvers | 10×10 ft | Manual louvers | $4,218 | $42.18 | Sep 13, 2026PergoLux ↗ |
| Hansø Pro+aluminum, 4 sizes to 13×19 | 10×10 ft | Manual louvers | $6,120 | $61.20 | Sep 13, 2026Hansø Home ↗ |
Prices are the manufacturer’s published list price on the verified date, before tax and delivery. A price shown for one size is that size only. Per-square-foot figures divide the price by the nominal footprint and are computed by us; they are omitted for bracket kits, which have no footprint of their own. Frame material for the Mirador 111S is not stated by the manufacturer in a form we could record, so it is left blank rather than assumed.
Motorized louvered kits
Same idea with a motor, usually LED lighting and a remote or app. Three brands sell the same frame manual or motorized, which makes the cost of the motor visible; that comparison is in the best louvered pergola brands guide. Every kit here needs a 120 V outdoor supply that is not in the box. See every motorized pergola.
| Product | Size | Roof | Price | Per sq ft | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EROMMY 10x13 Smart Electric Pergola with Movable Louvers and 4 Screenssingle size | 10×13 ft | Motorized louvers | $2,999.99 | $23.08 | Sep 13, 2026Erommy ↗ |
| Mirador Outdoor 111S e-Motion Motorised Louvered Pergola with LEDsingle size | 10×13 ft | Motorized louvers | $3,299 | $25.38 | Sep 13, 2026Mirador Outdoor ↗ |
| EROMMY Electric Louvered Pergola with Integrated LED Lighting and Side Screensmotorized screens included | 10×13 ft | Motorized louvers | $4,999.99 | $38.46 | Sep 13, 2026Erommy ↗ |
| PergoLux Pergola 4 Pro Motorized Louvered Pergola7 sizes | 10×10 ft | Motorized louvers | $5,193 | $51.93 | Sep 13, 2026PergoLux ↗ |
| BON Pergola Villa Pergola - Motorized Louver w/ Edge Lighting4 sizes | 10×10 ft | Motorized louvers | $5,280 | $52.80 | Sep 13, 2026BON Pergola ↗ |
| PergoLux Pergola 4 Pro Max Premium Motorized Louvered Pergolawider louvers | 10×10 ft | Motorized louvers | $7,468 | $74.68 | Sep 13, 2026PergoLux ↗ |
| Hansø Horizon5 sizes; app and smart-home control | 10×10 ft | Motorized louvers | $7,488 | $74.88 | Sep 13, 2026Hansø Home ↗ |
| Paragon Outdoor Signature Louvered Pergolaconfigurable size | — | Motorized louvers | $9,215.10 | — | Sep 13, 2026Paragon Outdoor ↗ |
| Hansø Apex8 sizes to 13×26 | 10×10 ft | Motorized louvers | $11,950 | $119.50 | Sep 13, 2026Hansø Home ↗ |
| The Luxury Pergola® (Signature Series)configurable; priced by build | — | Motorized louvers | $13,100.17 | — | Sep 13, 2026The Luxury Pergola ↗ |
Prices are the manufacturer’s published list price on the verified date, before tax and delivery. A price shown for one size is that size only. Per-square-foot figures divide the price by the nominal footprint and are computed by us; they are omitted for bracket kits, which have no footprint of their own.
Bracket kits: you supply the lumber
A bracket kit is a set of steel connectors; you buy 4×4 or 6×6 lumber locally and cut it to the size you want. The kit price excludes the lumber, anchoring, foundations and any roof or shade system — which is why it is not comparable with a complete kit on price and why we compute no per-square-foot figure for it.
| Product | Size | Price | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Toja Grid Any Size Wall Mount Pergola Kit | Buyer-sized (bracket kit) | $410 | Sep 13, 2026Toja Grid ↗ |
| Toja Grid Any Size Pergola Kit | Buyer-sized (bracket kit) | $630 | Sep 13, 2026Toja Grid ↗ |
| Toja Grid Any Size Double Pergola Kit | Buyer-sized (bracket kit) | $1,090 | Sep 13, 2026Toja Grid ↗ |
| Toja Grid GRID 30 Single Pergola Kit6×6 lumber | Buyer-sized (bracket kit) | $1,340 | Sep 13, 2026Toja Grid ↗ |
Prices are the manufacturer’s published list price on the verified date, before tax and delivery. A price shown for one size is that size only.
What a bracket kit does and does not include: Toja Grid Any Size Pergola Kit
Included
- 4x SOLO base/wall brackets
- 4x TRIO corner brackets
- 1-1/2" Pan Rob/Phil combo drive 304 S.S wood screws with black plastic head caps
Not included
- Lumber — the buyer supplies all wood: "Why is lumber NOT included? ... shipping wood is extremely expensive and most populations will have access to local stores that sell wood." (FAQ)
- Anchoring hardware — "Remember, anchoring hardware is NOT included as surfaces will vary from build to build." (build guide / FAQ)
- Additional screws and head caps beyond 2 screws per bracket side — "extra screws and caps are available for purchase." (FAQ / Structure Kits)
- Foundations — "Foundations and existing structures are to be designed/reviewed by your own engineer and are not part of the scope of the details." (Structure Kits)
- Tools — the build guide lists ladder(s), drill(s) and measuring tape as what you need
- Any roof, top or shade — SHADE SAIL, Wave Shade and other tops are separate products
Last verified Toja Grid (opens in a new tab)
Quote-only systems: a different market
Above the kit ladder sit dealer-designed and dealer-installed louvered systems (StruXure, Azenco, Equinox and others) that publish no price and are quoted per project. If you are weighing one against a kit, PergoLux vs StruXure sets the two buying models side by side.
The best pergola kits, in detail
Best overall: Mirador 111DA
The 111DA is the kit we would point a first-time louvered buyer at, and it sits in the middle of the manual tier rather than at the bottom: the cheaper 111S has single-layer louvers and a shorter term. Its five footprints run 10×10 to 13×20. Mirador sells direct and refers installers rather than including installation; for a motorized roof at 10×13 the option is the 111S e-Motion.
Best value: Erommy Louvered Pergola
Value here is not only price: anchoring bolts are in the box too, where several kits in this tier sell screens separately or not at all. Erommy’s louvered line starts below every other brand’s here, though its own integrated-drainage model starts lower still than this one. The one-year warranty runs from shipment and excludes weather damage, improper installation, misuse and normal wear.
What's included: EROMMY Louvered Pergola with Adjustable Rainproof Roof
Included
- Aluminum frame with louvered roof boards
- Detachable crank handle(s)
- Side curtains and mesh netting
- Expansion bolts for anchoring
- Assembly hardware and instruction manual
Not included
- Pistol Drill (assembly tool, not supplied)
- Tape Measure (assembly tool, not supplied)
- 2 m Adjustable Ladder (assembly tool, not supplied)
Last verified Erommy (opens in a new tab)
Best wood: Backyard Discovery Beaumont
The Beaumont’s components arrive pre-cut, pre-drilled and pre-stained. The roof is an open trellis: shade, not shelter. Assembly is a paid add-on, and no restaining interval is published.
Best motorized: PergoLux Pergola 4 Pro
The Pro shares the manual Pergola 4’s 6063-T5 aluminum frame and sizes, adding a double-wall motorized louver roof and remote, app, Bluetooth and Matter control. Anchoring bolts, footings and the 120 V supply are not included, and on a motorized kit the term that matters is the two years on moving and electrical parts, not the ten on the structure. The older Series 3 line is on clearance and is not the brand’s current price.
What's included: PergoLux Pergola 4 Pro Motorized Louvered Pergola
Included
- Electronic motorized louvered roof (double-wall louvers)
- Beam-integrated dimmable LED light strips
- Remote control for roof and accessories (range up to 130 ft)
- App and smart home control (Bluetooth, Matter; Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings)
- Pre-assembled roof panels with click-in installation
- Two SnapFIT accessory channels per rain gutter
- Assembly instructions (PERGOLUX app, video and printable PDF manuals)
Not included
- Anchoring bolts (spec table: "Anchoring Hardware: Bolts not Included")
- Electrical supply - a standard outdoor outlet (120V) is required
- Retractable screens, wooden slat walls and glass walls (sold separately)
- PERGOLUX heater (optional, sold separately)
- Foundation and footings
- Professional assembly (optional, via Elite Tech Installs)
Last verified PergoLux (opens in a new tab)
Best steel: Backyard Discovery Sarasota
Every steel louvered kit we have verified is a Backyard Discovery, and the Sarasota is the freestanding one, in six sizes from 10×10 to 20×10. The cheaper Evanston mounts to a wall only, and the gabled Ridgeline costs more than twice as much. Steel is not the cheap route to a louvered roof — the Erommy Louvered Pergola and the Mirador 111S both start below it in the table above — it is heavier to handle, and the warranty excludes cosmetic rusting.
Best size range: Purple Leaf Caesar
The Caesar runs from 8×10 up to 13×30, which at 390 square feet is the largest single footprint we have verified. Crank handle, hardware and a hidden gutter are included; Purple Leaf offers no installation service, and the warranty is one year.
Best premium DIY system: The Luxury Pergola Signature
The Signature takes the premium DIY slot on what the manufacturer publishes: a lifetime, transferable warranty in its own wording, on a motorized louvered roof configurable to a non-standard size rather than sold on a fixed ladder, with a published starting price. The dealer-installed systems it is positioned against publish none, so we make no claim about how it compares with them.
The trade-offs belong in the same breath. There is no size ladder, so that starting price is not a quote for your footprint: the pergola is bought as separate components in a cart — frame, louvers, posts, a control package — not as one kit at one price. Smart control requires a separately purchased Bond Bridge Pro, and final assembly is the buyer’s.
What's included: The Luxury Pergola® (Signature Series)
Included
- IP67 24V electric motor for louver control via Remote Control
- Plug in 120V Power Cord For Plug In Power in available outlet
- Louver Control: Handheld Remote
Not included
- Pergola components are not in this listing: 'To receive a pergola, ensure you have components in your cart, like a control package, frame components, louvers, posts, etc.'
- Pier footings / concrete pad where no 5 inch concrete pad exists
- Smart Controls: 'Luxury Pergola Smart Controls require the purchase of a Bond Bridge Pro'
- Sun shades and bug screens (sold as separate products)
- Final assembly: 'You Manage Final Assembly'
Last verified The Luxury Pergola (opens in a new tab)
| Product | Cover | Notable exclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Erommy Louvered Pergola | 1 year from shipment | Weather damage, improper installation, misuse and normal wear excluded |
| Mirador 111DA | 4 years, plus 1 with registration | Materials and workmanship |
| Backyard Discovery Beaumont and Sarasota | 5 years | Original registered owner; cosmetic rusting and color fading excluded; non-transferable |
| PergoLux Pergola 4 Pro | 10 years structure, 5 finish, 2 moving parts, 2 electrical | Non-transferable; registration within 6 months; exceeding wind or snow limits excluded |
| Purple Leaf Caesar | 1 year | No further terms published |
| Toja Grid bracket kit | 5 years on brackets | Brackets only; lumber is not covered |
| The Luxury Pergola Signature | Lifetime, transferable (manufacturer’s wording) | Terms published as a summary only |
Summaries. The full manufacturer wording for each kit, with the date we verified it, is on that kit’s product page.
Other major brands we have not yet fully verified
What the kit price does not include
The same items recur on the not-included side across the kits here: anchoring hardware, footings or a concrete pad, the electrical supply for a motorized roof, side screens and walls, and professional assembly. Yardistry publishes assembly prices on its product pages; Backyard Discovery and PergoLux sell assembly as an add-on; Mirador refers installers; Purple Leaf offers none. None of it adds up to an installed total, which depends on your site — how much a pergola costs sets out what each item typically adds.
Pergola kit or DIY build?
For an open-roof cedar structure the two are close, because the kit is lumber with the cutting, drilling and staining already done — the wood tier above shows what that costs. For a louvered roof the comparison changes: a working louver mechanism is not something most people fabricate, so the real choice is kit versus contractor-built or dealer-installed, and the kit is much cheaper before installation.
Why we do not rank on wind and snow ratings
Wind and snow ratings are the specifications buyers most often want compared, and we do not score them. Manufacturers publish them with no common test basis, most attach a qualifier such as "depending on configuration" or "with professional anchoring", and the same brand can publish different figures for one model on different pages. The example below is from one brand’s own site.
| Claim | As published by Mirador Outdoor | Source | What it does not cover |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wind rating, 111DA | 102 mph, 26.6 psf snow, "with professional assembly & anchoring" | Mirador 111DA product pageRead Sep 13, 2026 | Asterisked on the page; test basis not stated. |
| Wind rating, 111DA | 82 mph, 17.7 lb/ft² snow | Mirador blog, "Best Pergolas in 2026"Read Sep 13, 2026 | Same brand, same model, different figures. We record the conflict and rank on neither. |
These are claims as published by the named source on the date given. We have read the documents; we have not independently tested or certified any figure in this table, and figures from different publishers are not necessarily measured the same way.
Where a brand publishes a figure we quote it with its source and qualifier in the brand guides; where it does not (Yardistry, Erommy, StruXure on its product pages) we say "not published". No manufacturer we have verified publishes guidance on seasonal louver removal, so we do not generalize about it.
Brands we compared
Every brand we verified, with a link to its full line.
How we chose
- We compared only what manufacturers publish and we could verify: the list price of every size, the sizes sold, roof type and operation, what is and is not in the box, and the warranty in the manufacturer’s own words. Every figure carries its verification date and a source link.
- We do not rank on wind or snow ratings. Manufacturers publish them with no common test basis, so they appear here only as attributed claims.
- Tier boundaries are ours, set so a buyer can find the tier they are shopping in rather than to flatter any product; a kit near a boundary could sit either side.
- No brand paid for placement. Affiliate relationships do not affect which products we include, how we rank them, or what we recommend.
- Brands that publish no prices, or whose products we have not verified at product level, are named in their own section rather than silently omitted.
Questions
Are pergola kits worth it?
If your footprint fits a standard size and you can assemble a kit with a helper, yes: a published price, a defined inclusion list and a written warranty for a fraction of an installed quote. They are worth less when you need a custom span, a permit with stamped drawings, or one party accountable for design and installation.
Is Hanso or Pergolux better?
Neither, in general. Both sell direct-to-consumer aluminum louvered kits, manual and motorized, at published prices. PergoLux starts lower at every comparable tier and publishes an inclusion list and section sizes; Hansø goes larger, to 13×26, covers louver mechanisms for five years against PergoLux’s two, but gives one year on motors against PergoLux’s two and publishes no parts list. The same-footprint prices, warranty documents and return terms are set side by side in PergoLux vs Hansø.
What is the best quality pergola kit?
There is no single answer across tiers. The kits that document the most — every size priced, an itemized inclusion list, section sizes, a warranty with its exclusions stated — are the ones we are most confident recommending, and the picks above are chosen on that basis. We do not test structures ourselves.
Are louvered pergolas worth it?
A louvered roof turns a pergola from shade into shelter: closed for rain, open for sun. The full-size manual louvered kits in this guide start in the low thousands and motorized ones from about $3,000, against open-roof cedar kits from about $1,000. Whether that is worth it depends on whether you want a dry patio.
What are the downsides of aluminum pergolas?
A kit’s frame is only as rigid as its anchoring, which is often not included, and louvers and motors carry shorter warranty terms than the frame at most brands — the warranty table above shows the splits. Aluminum needs no staining, the main upkeep advantage over cedar.
Does a pergola kit need to be anchored in concrete?
The louvered kits we have cataloged are specified for anchoring to a hard surface, and several list the anchors as not included. Bracket kits leave anchoring entirely to you. Whether you need footings depends on your surface and your local code; the cost guide covers what that involves.
How long does it take to install a pergola kit?
Manufacturers publish estimates from a few hours with two people for aluminum louvered kits to a day or more for larger cedar kits. Where a brand offers paid assembly, the price is in the inclusion panels above.